Posted by Anthony Daly, Founder of NewBaroque
April 19, 2019

Trio Sonata No. 1 in G for Organ

Trio Sonata No. 1 in G for Organ is a sonata for organ in three movements by Anthony Daly. The first movement, an allegro, opens with a stately theme that uses suspensions to create melodic interest. The underlying musical form is that of a fugue; the order of entries is subject followed by answer followed by subject.

The melodic writing is contrapuntal in nature with highly individualised parts. The pedal is not static; it often features quite involved movement, such as at bar 23 and the corresponding place where that theme returns, at bar 27.

The two outer movements are contrasted with a slow middle movement which explores the concept of light and shade in music. An example of this is the modulation to G major from E minor half way through and darker moments such as the ending.

Anthony Daly

The slow movement described is quite unique in character. It features long melodic lines which are shaped to allow for a rise and fall to be heard in the music. The upper two parts complement each other, and the bass provides stability to the intricate decorative demisemiquavers above. It is written in binary form, with each section repeated (AABB).

The last movement is a lively allegro which, like the first movement, features highly contrapuntal writing in all three parts. Chromaticism provides melodic interest from bar 36 to 39 and the parts are switched around when the main theme comes back at bar 53.

Trio Sonata No. 1 in G for Organ is available for purchase from the NewBaroque marketplace.

+44 (0)785 234 0042
Home About Us Lessons Marketplace Blog Become a member